Underbrush Book Club (One Time Purchase)

Sale price Price $28.00 Regular price Unit price  per 

The Light Pirate is completely devastating and overwhelmingly cathartic all at the same time. Wanda is a truly magical character and her story captivates at every turn. It's a stand-out sophomore novel from one of my favorite authors” – Courtney

For readers of Station Eleven and Where the Crawdads Sing comes a hopeful, sweeping story of survival and resilience spanning one extraordinary woman's lifetime as she navigates the uncertainty, brutality, and arresting beauty of a rapidly changing world.

Florida is slipping away. As devastating weather patterns and rising sea levels wreak gradual havoc on the state's infrastructure, a powerful hurricane approaches a small town on the southeastern coast. Kirby Lowe, an electrical line worker, his pregnant wife, Frida, and their two sons, Flip and Lucas, prepare for the worst. When the boys go missing just before the hurricane hits, Kirby heads out into the high winds in search of his children. Left alone, Frida goes into premature labor and gives birth to an unusual child, Wanda, whom she names after the catastrophic storm that ushers her into a society closer to collapse than ever before.

As Florida continues to unravel, Wanda grows. Moving from childhood to adulthood, adapting not only to the changing landscape, but also to the people who stayed behind in a place abandoned by civilization, Wanda loses family, gains community, and ultimately, seeks adventure, love, and purpose in a place remade by nature.

Told in four parts-power, water, light, and time-The Light Pirate mirrors the rhythms of the elements and the sometimes quick, sometimes slow dissolution of the world as we know it. It is a meditation on the changes we would rather not see, the future we would rather not greet, and a call back to the beauty and violence of an untamable wilderness.

  • January book pick
  • Book club questions
  • Access to our monthly meetings
  • Underbrush tote-bag (First time members only)

    Boxes will begin shipping on 1/5. The in-person meeting will take place on Monday, February 13th at 6:45 CST at Iron Horse Coffee in Rogers and the virtual meeting will take place remotely Wednesday, February 15th at 7:30 CST via Zoom.

    You can choose to make your Underbrush membership a recurring subscription here and receive free shipping on each box here. Subscriptions will be renewed on the 1st of each month. You will have the option to skip a month without being charged.